Student Achievement

SCDF Liversaver's Innovation Challenge 
Posted:9 December 2019

We are very happy to announce that the SCDF Lifesaver's Innovation Challenge 2019 has concluded. It is a competition that challenges undergraduates to propose and develop solutions to existing challenges faced by the SCDF. Many of our students from school of MAE had won the top cash prizes.

Here are some honorable mentions:

Team SilveRed (1st Prize): Guan Jun Liang, Koh Yu Xiang and Ng Yuzhi

Team Badger (2nd Prize): Lai Zi Lun

Team MoFiFi (5th Prize) Gwee You Young Clive, Edris Asyraf and Cai Yuxin


​​​49th International Conference- Computers and Infustrial Engineering 2019

Posted:12 September 2019

Congratulation to MAE student Cheung Wai Lun, Marvin and Dr. Rajesh Piplani for winning Best Paper Award at the recently concluded 49th International Conference on Computers and Industrial Engineering 2019 held in Beijing.

World Finals of Chem-E-Car

Posted:14 October 2019

Congratulation to Sarvesh Tusnia from MAE for winning 3rd place at the World Finals of Chem-e-car competition.

The competition is held in Sydney, Australia from 28th September – 2nd October 2019 and the team had to design a car powered and controlled by chemical reactions, and is capable of travel up to 50 meters. They were the only Singapore team competing with teams from other countries like India, Indonesia, UK and Australia.

Congratulation to Tan Ming Kai Mitchell from MAE for winning the top place in the Singapore-India Hackathon and receiving a top prize of SGD 10,000!


Singapore-India Hackathon 2019

Posted: 5 November 2019

A little about the competition: Over the weekend of 29th-30th September, 120 students from India and Singapore participated in the Singapore-India Hackathon 2019 held in IIT Madras in Chennai, India. There were 20 teams, each team consisting of 3 Indian students and 3 Singaporean students. This year the Hackathon focused on 3 themes - Good health and well-being, Quality education, and Affordable and clean energy. The winning team managed to design a smart pot with apertures to purify the air.


PSA Box Challenge 2019

Posted:29 Octobe​r 2019

Congratulations to our MAE students for winning 1st RUNNER UP for PSA Box Challenge! They managed to provide the best solution and stand out among the other teams from other universities.

SMRT-NTU Innovation Challenge

Posted:12 September 2019

Congratulation to Team RUBI: Clive Gwee, Lai Zi Iun & Cai Yuxin from School of MAE for winning third place in the SMRT-NTU Innovation Challenge.

During the competition held on 8 April 2019, students were tasked to find innovative ideas to improve train operations and maintenance and to also explore new markets for existing innovations by the SMRT-NTU Corp Lab. The proposals presented by Team RUBI were an eye opener with fresh perspectives to the industry players and audience members present!

T.H New Flow Visualization Award

Posted: 5 July 2019

Congratulation to Chan Chi Hin, Koh Jing Yu, Avion Lim and Tee Wei Tat, Clarence for winning the Prof New's T.H. New Flow Visualization Award in AY2018 with their outstanding works in Fluid Dynamics/Aerodynamics Research.


7th Singapore International 3D Competitions

Posted: 31 May 2019

Congratulations to all the winners in the 2019 7th Singapore International 3D Printing Competitions at the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Cluster (NAMIC) summit, one of them being our very own MAE student, Lu Zhen!


Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2019- Nanyang Venture 10

Posted: 7 May 2019

Heartiest confratulations to our MAE Prof Ng Heong Wah and the team for racing to a podium finish in the Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2019 with the Nanyang Venture 10!

The team has whizzed its way to bag three trophies which include the 1st position in Regional Driver's World Championship, Gold Award in the Hydrogen Urban Concept Category and Gold Award for Vehicle Design!

Singapore Amazing Flying Machine Competition (SAFMC)

Posted: 7 April 2019

Warmest congratulations to Faheem, one of the students from Aerospace Engineering, for coming in 11th overall in Singapore Amazing Flying Machine Competition (SAFMC)!

He is the Society’s Chief Flight Instructor and NTU representative, where he specifically took part in the Drone racing competition with 100+ other participants.​


Rolls-Royce Graduate Development Programme

Posted: 2 April 2019

A big congratulations to four of our MAE graduating students for being selected for the coveted Rolls-Royce Graduate Development Programme 2019.

Teoh Jeng Wei, Ong Yong Jie, Peng Chongtian and Wan Jhan Yong are among the eight fresh graduates from Singapore being selected!