News & Events


6 MAE faculty members are among the appointees of the faculty chair professorships

Published on: 28-Mar-2019

50 new professorship_1.jpg

On 26 March 2019, NTU President Prof Subra Suresh announced the creation of 50 newly named faculty chair professorships at the university town hall as part of a major effort to recognise outstanding achievement at early, mid-career and senior faculty levels.

The initiative is part of an ambitious plan, first announced at the university town hall in August 2018, to create up to 100 new term chair professorships over five years to attract, nurture and retain outstanding faculty at NTU. 

Prof Suresh told the university community that following concerted efforts to realise this, NTU would benefit from the new funds (external gifts and the accompanying matching endowment that have been specifically set aside for term chair professorships for all levels of faculty ranks in NTU’s academic colleges and autonomous institutes.

In making the announcement at NTU’s Nanyang Auditorium, Prof Suresh said, “NTU Singapore continues to grow in global stature and impact as a result of the remarkable accomplishments of our faculty in research, education and innovation that benefit knowledge creation, industry and society. A key mechanism to recognise the achievements of our early-career, mid-career and senior faculty colleagues is through named chair professorships. These professorships serve as an important tool to attract, nurture, recognise and retain outstanding faculty at all levels of career progression.”

Prof Suresh added that the appointees were selected from a very competitive pool of highly accomplished faculty.

We are proud to announce that six MAE faculty members are among the appointees:

Full Professor Chairs from MAE:

Professor Chan Siew Hwa: Co-Director of ERI@N and President's Chair in Energy.

Professor Jimmy Hsia: Dean of Graduate College and President's Chair in Mechanical Engineering.

Professor Lam Khin Yong: Vice President (Research) and President's Chair in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Professor Louis Phee: Dean of College of Engineering and Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Professor in Mechanical Engineering.

Professor Upadrasta Ramamurty: President's Chair in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering.

Early-Career and Mid-Career Faculty Chairs from MAE:

Associate Professor Hirotaka Sato: Provost's Chair in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Our heartiest congratulations to all outstanding appointees for their well-deserved recognition on the newly-announced chair professorships!

For the full list of appointed faculty, please click here.

Back to listing